Motorola sells more phones in American carrier stores than any Android brand except Samsung, yet talks less about software updates than almost anyone. That combination is why the Motorola Android 17 update question is so hard to answer from the company’s own channels, and why this page exists as one continuously revised tracker rather than a new article every time a build appears.
The quick answer: Motorola’s Android 17 release, running its Hello UI software, has shipped its first stable build. The Motorola Edge 2025 began receiving the stable update, build A171VDH.33, in the United States around 10 August 2026, starting with MetroPCS carrier-locked units and expanding from there. Every other Motorola phone is still on beta, or has not received a build at all. The beta program opened on four devices on 27 July 2026 (Motorola Signature, Moto G57 Power, Edge 70, Edge 60 Pro) and expanded again on 3 August 2026 to roughly ten more, including the Razr 70 Plus, Razr+ 2026, Edge 70 Pro, Edge 70 Plus, Edge 70 Neo and five 2025 and 2026 Moto G models. Stable builds for the rest of the range are expected in stages through early 2027. The Signature and Razr 2025 line should get it in August to September 2026, the Edge 60 and Edge 50 series in October to November 2026, and the Moto G range from late 2026 into early 2027. On 10 August 2026, Lenovo’s official Spain blog published a list of roughly 49 Motorola devices confirmed eligible for Android 17 across the Signature, Razr, Edge and Moto G lines, so the earlier claim on this page that Motorola had not published a consolidated eligibility list no longer holds. Motorola’s own per-device support pages still carry useful forward-looking detail too; the Edge 60 Pro’s support page, for example, names Android 17 as its “Next OS,” alongside the standard disclaimer that this is not a commitment. The Razr 40 and Razr 40 Ultra, sold in America as the Razr 2023 and Razr+ 2023, are not eligible.
What is actually live right now
| Device | Model number | Status | Build | Regions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motorola Edge 2025 | XT2519 | Stable | A171VDH.33 | United States (MetroPCS carrier-locked units first, wider US rollout expected within weeks) |
| Motorola Signature | XT2603-2 (global; not released in the US) | Beta | A171WVH.13 | India, Brazil, parts of EMEA |
| Moto G57 Power | XT2537-5 (global; not officially sold in the US) | Beta | A171WAAH.16 | India, Brazil, parts of EMEA |
| Motorola Edge 70 | XT2601-3 (US), XT2601-2 (global) | Beta | A171WRH.22 | India, Brazil, parts of EMEA |
| Edge 60 Pro | XT2507-1 | Beta | A171VVH.16 | India, expanding to Brazil |
| Razr 70 Plus | XT2659-3 | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | EMEA |
| Razr+ 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
| Edge 70 Pro | Not independently confirmed (widely reported as XT2607-1) | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | India, EMEA, Latin America |
| Edge 70 Plus | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | EMEA |
| Edge 70 Neo | Not independently confirmed (unreleased as of this writing) | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | India |
| Moto G Power 2026 | XT2615-1 (US) | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
| Moto G Power 2025 | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
| Moto G 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
| Moto G 2025 | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
| Moto G Play 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta | Not specified by Motorola | Not specified in Motorola’s announcement |
Worth reading carefully. The Edge 2025 is the only device with a stable US build so far, and even that started with MetroPCS-locked units rather than a broad release. None of the beta devices above are confirmed for the United States, the UK, Canada or Australia. Motorola’s beta program has consistently opened in India, Brazil and EMEA first, and US participation usually arrives later or not at all for a given cycle. If you are in North America and your phone is not the Edge 2025, the realistic expectation is that you wait for a stable build.

Expected eligible devices
Status wording here is consistent with our other trackers. Stable means the finished build has started shipping to real devices. Beta means a test build is live. Expected means the device fits Motorola’s support pattern, and is on Lenovo’s published eligibility list, but does not yet have a live build. Not eligible means it has been ruled out.
Flagship and Razr
| Device | Model number | Status | Expected timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motorola Signature | XT2603-2 (global; not released in the US) | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected August to September 2026 |
| Razr 70 Plus | XT2659-3 | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected August to September 2026 |
| Razr+ 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected August to September 2026 |
| Razr 60 Ultra, Razr 60 | Razr 60 Ultra: XT2551-2 (US), XT2551-6 (global); Razr 60: XT2553-1 | Expected | August to September 2026 |
| Razr 50 Ultra, Razr 50 | Razr 50 Ultra: XT2451-1 (US, sold as razr+), XT2451-3 (global); Razr 50: XT2453-3 (US unlocked), XT2453V (Verizon), XT2453-1 (global) | Expected | Late 2026 |
| Razr 40, Razr 40 Ultra (Razr 2023, Razr+ 2023) | Razr 2023: XT2323-2; Razr+ 2023: XT2321-5 (US), XT2321-1 / XT2321-2 / XT2321-3 (global/EU/Brazil/China) | Not eligible | Support window exhausted |
Edge series
| Device | Model number | Status | Expected timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motorola Edge 2025 | XT2519 | Stable (see live table above) | Already shipping in the US; wider rollout in progress |
| Edge 70 | XT2601-3 (US), XT2601-2 (global) | Beta | Stable expected October to November 2026 |
| Edge 70 Pro | Not independently confirmed. Widely reported as XT2607-1, unverified against Motorola’s own spec listing | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected October to November 2026 |
| Edge 70 Plus | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected October to November 2026 |
| Edge 70 Neo | Not independently confirmed (unreleased as of this writing) | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected October to November 2026 |
| Edge 70 Fusion | XT2605-3 (US/Latin America), XT2605-1 / XT2605-2 / XT2605-4 (global) | Expected | October to November 2026 |
| Edge 60 Pro | XT2507-1 | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected October to November 2026 |
| Edge 60 Ultra, Edge 60 | Edge 60 Ultra: no verified model number, this device has not been confirmed to have shipped; Edge 60: XT2505-1, XT2505-4 | Expected | October to November 2026 |
| Edge 60 Fusion, Edge 60 Neo | Edge 60 Fusion: XT2503-4; Edge 60 Neo: XT2509-1 | Expected | Late 2026 |
| Edge 50 Ultra, Edge 50 Pro | Edge 50 Ultra: XT2401-1; Edge 50 Pro: XT2403-2 | Expected | Late 2026 into early 2027 |
| Edge 50 Neo, Edge 50 Fusion | Edge 50 Neo: XT2409-1; Edge 50 Fusion: XT2429-1 | Expected | Early 2027 |
| Edge 2022 and earlier | N/A | Not eligible | Support window exhausted |
Moto G series
| Device | Model number | Status | Expected timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moto G57 Power | XT2537-5 (global; not officially sold in the US) | Beta | Stable expected early 2027 |
| Moto G Power 2026 | XT2615-1 (US) | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected late 2026 into early 2027 |
| Moto G Power 2025 | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected late 2026 into early 2027 |
| Moto G 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected early 2027 |
| Moto G 2025 | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected early 2027 |
| Moto G Play 2026 | Not independently confirmed | Beta (see live table above) | Stable expected early 2027 |
| Moto G57 | XT2537-2 | Expected | Early 2027 |
| Moto G86, Moto G86 Power | Moto G86: XT2527-2; Moto G86 Power: XT2527-7 | Expected | Early 2027 |
| Moto G75, Moto G67, Moto G56 | Moto G75: XT2437-2, XT2437-3; Moto G67: XT2621-2; Moto G56: XT2529-1, XT2529-2 | Expected | Early 2027 |
| Moto G 2022 and earlier | N/A | Not eligible | Support window exhausted |
Motorola’s own device-by-device eligibility, beyond what has an active beta or stable build, now also has a real published source: Lenovo’s official Spain blog listed roughly 49 eligible Motorola devices across the Signature, Razr, Edge and Moto G lines on 10 August 2026, covering hardware back to some 2020 to 2022 Edge and Moto G models. This tracker’s tables above cover every device with a live build plus the specific names confirmed through Motorola’s own beta and stable announcements. We have not transcribed the full 49-device Lenovo list here because a large share of those model numbers are not yet independently verifiable against Motorola’s own support pages or GSMArena, and this page does not publish a model number, or a status, it has not checked. If your device is not listed above and you want to check the fuller list yourself, Lenovo’s post is linked in the sources below.
The honest caveat about Motorola and updates
Motorola’s weakness has never been which phones get an update. It is how many, and how fast. The company does not publish an explicit version-count promise the way Samsung and Google now do, and its published support listings point to roughly three years of Android versions on most of its range. Moto G phones in particular have a track record of receiving one major version update and then stopping.
That matters for anyone deciding what to buy rather than what to wait for. A Moto G is excellent value on day one and its software runway is shorter than a comparably priced Samsung A series phone. We went into this in more depth in our look at the phone brands nobody talks about.
The second caveat is regional. Motorola’s rollouts reach India and Brazil well ahead of North America and Western Europe, and carrier-locked units in the US then add their own delay on top. A Verizon or T-Mobile branded Motorola commonly trails the unlocked retail model by a month or more. The Edge 2025’s early stable build is the exception that proves the rule. It launched with MetroPCS, a single US prepaid carrier, rather than as a broad unlocked release.
What Hello UI is, and why the name changed
If you have owned a Motorola for a few years, the software was called My UX, and before that it was near enough stock Android with a Moto app bolted on. Hello UI is the current name, and it represents a real shift rather than a rebrand.
Motorola’s historic selling point was restraint. Its phones ran something very close to what Google shipped, with a small set of genuinely good additions: the chop-twice-for-flashlight gesture, the twist-for-camera gesture, Moto Display. That reputation is a large part of why enthusiasts recommended Moto G phones for years.
Hello UI is a more opinionated layer with its own design language and a growing set of AI features. Whether that is an improvement depends on what you wanted from a Motorola in the first place. What it definitely means is more engineering work between a Google release and a Motorola one, which is part of why the stable timeline for most of the range still runs into 2027 even though the Edge 2025 already has a finished build.
How Motorola’s update policy compares
This is the part that matters most for buyers in the United States, where Motorola has the shelf space to be an easy default choice.
| Brand | Android version updates | Security patches |
|---|---|---|
| Google Pixel (8 and newer) | 7 years | 7 years |
| Samsung (Galaxy S24 and newer) | 7 years | 7 years |
| Nothing Phone (3) | 5 years | 7 years |
| Motorola (most current range) | Around 3 years, not explicitly promised | Varies by model |
Motorola is the only brand in that table without a clear published version-count commitment across its range, and the gap is widest at the affordable end. A Moto G bought alongside a Galaxy A series phone at a similar price will typically receive fewer Android versions.
None of that makes Motorola a bad buy. Its hardware value at the mid range is strong, its flip phones are the only real alternative to Samsung’s, and its US carrier availability is better than any brand except Samsung and Apple. It does mean that if long software support is your priority, the comparison should be made explicitly rather than assumed.
How to check on your Motorola phone
Open Settings, then System, then System update, then tap Check for updates. To see what you are running now, go to Settings, then About phone, and read the Android version and software channel fields.
If you want the beta and you are in a supported market, the route is the Moto app, then the account or beta program section. Two things to weigh first. Beta builds on Motorola have historically shipped with camera and battery regressions, and leaving a beta program usually requires a full data wipe. On a phone you rely on daily, that is a real cost.
US carrier variants: what to expect
Motorola’s American lineup is sold heavily through Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and their prepaid brands, and carrier models follow a different schedule from unlocked retail units bought through Motorola or Best Buy.
Three patterns hold up across previous Motorola releases. Carrier certification adds time, commonly a month or more beyond the unlocked release. Prepaid and value brand variants, including Cricket, Metro and Boost models, trail postpaid versions and are the most likely to be dropped from a rollout entirely, though the Edge 2025’s stable build broke that pattern by launching on MetroPCS first. And model numbers matter, because a carrier variant is a distinct software build with its own approval track even when the hardware is identical.
The practical advice, if software timing matters to you, is to buy the unlocked model. It updates sooner in most cases, it is not subject to carrier approval, and on Motorola specifically the gap is wide enough to be worth the difference at purchase.
Frequently asked questions
Why has Android 17 not reached my Motorola phone yet?
Because only one device, the Motorola Edge 2025, has a stable build so far, and it started with MetroPCS-locked units in the US rather than a broad release. Beyond that, nine devices have beta access as of 3 August 2026: the Motorola Signature, Moto G57 Power, Edge 70, Edge 60 Pro, Razr 70 Plus, Razr+ 2026, Edge 70 Pro, Edge 70 Plus and Edge 70 Neo, plus five 2025 and 2026 Moto G models, and only in selected markets. Wider stable releases are expected to begin around August to September 2026 with the Signature and Razr line.
Does a carrier-locked Motorola update later?
Usually yes, and on Motorola the gap tends to be wider than average. Carrier certification in the US routinely adds a month or more compared with the unlocked model, and some carrier variants have historically skipped a version entirely. The Edge 2025’s stable Android 17 build is a notable exception, since it reached MetroPCS units first.
Can I install the Android 17 beta on a device that is not listed?
No. Motorola beta builds are device-specific and are delivered only to enrolled handsets in supported regions. Flashing a build intended for another model will not work and risks leaving the phone unbootable.
My Motorola is not on any of these tables. What does that mean?
Most likely that it is from 2022 or earlier and has exhausted its support window. Motorola typically covers recent flagship and mid-range devices only. If your phone launched in 2023 or later and is missing here, check Lenovo’s 10 August 2026 eligibility list linked in the sources below; it names roughly 49 devices, more than this tracker has independently verified model numbers and build details for. We will add a device to our own tables once there is a live build or a specific, checkable date to report.

Changelog
- 31 July 2026: Page created. Android 17 beta confirmed live on Motorola Signature (A171WVH.13), Moto G57 Power (A171WAAH.16) and Edge 70 (A171WRH.22) in India, Brazil and parts of EMEA. No stable build released on any Motorola device. Razr 40 and Razr 40 Ultra confirmed not eligible.
- 10 August 2026: Added a Model number column to every device table on this page. This is a reader-usefulness addition, not a search-traffic move: one Motorola marketing name (Edge 70, Razr 50, Moto G57 and so on) can cover several distinct hardware variants, carrier-locked US units, global unlocked models, and regional SKUs, that can each be on a different update schedule, so the model number is how a reader confirms which row actually applies to their own phone. Numbers verified against GSMArena spec pages and retailer listings for the specific SKU before publishing.
- 11 August 2026 (morning): Edge 60 Pro moved from Expected to confirmed Beta. Motorola began rolling out the Android 17 beta (build A171VVH.16) to the Edge 60 Pro in India on 27 July 2026, ahead of a wider regional expansion, per multiple outlet reports. Corrected the earlier claim that Motorola publishes no forward-looking eligibility information: its own support page for the Edge 60 Pro lists Android 17 as the device’s “Next OS.” Added the Edge 70 Pro, a real device this tracker had omitted, with an honest note that its model number is not independently confirmed. Replaced two placeholder dashes in the device tables with “N/A” and replaced the featured image with a real Motorola product photo instead of a generated title card.
- 11 August 2026 (afternoon): Second correction pass. Fixed two claims the morning update left inconsistent with this page’s own tables: the FAQ said only three phones had beta access when the live table already showed four, and the quick answer said the stable rollout would not start until late 2026 while a table row already said the Motorola Signature’s stable build was expected in August to September 2026. Added the actual news this page had missed: the Motorola Edge 2025 (XT2519) received Motorola’s first stable Android 17 build, A171VDH.33, in the US starting around 10 August 2026 on MetroPCS-locked units. Added the Android 17 beta program’s 3 August 2026 expansion to roughly ten more devices (Razr 70 Plus, Razr+ 2026, Edge 70 Pro, Edge 70 Plus, Edge 70 Neo, and five 2025/2026 Moto G models), most without independently verifiable model numbers, which this page now states plainly rather than guessing. Corrected the claim that Motorola has not published a consolidated eligibility list: Lenovo’s official Spain blog published one on 10 August 2026, naming roughly 49 eligible devices; this tracker’s own tables still only carry the subset with independently checkable model numbers and dates.
Tracking another brand? See our Android 17 update tracker for every manufacturer, or the Samsung Android 17 update tracker.

I am the chief editor of TheLeaker. I also maintain the backend stuff of the site. I’m a tech enthusiast and loves to do Python coding in my free time. I have worked at many giant publications like XDA Developers and NXTtech before starting TheLeaker.
You can get in touch with me at Garv[at]theleaker.com.
